Sewing

Cachette Luna Pants

To kick-start my #mmmay16 pledge of working through my fabric stash, I thought I’d start with my most recent purchase!

DSC_0282

These are the Luna pants from Made by Rae, made with Atelier Brunette’s Cachette fabric that I bought from Anna Ka Bazaar on my recent trip to Paris (oh so many beautiful fabrics!). Summer is hopefully around the corner in the UK now, even if we did only have snow last week, so I’ve started to think about what I plan to wear when the warmer weather comes round. Being more of a skirts girl, aside from a pair of jeans and some smart trousers for work, I have no other trousers since my old summery trousers from New Look have become well and truly worn out. I’ve therefore been seeking a replacement and when I spotted the Luna pants pattern on Instagram I knew that they were the right choice.

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 16.25.45

I decided to cut out a small, grading out to medium at the hips then back to small for the rest of the legs. Now they’re made I probably needn’t have graded out as there’s more than enough room in the hips but they’re still perfectly wearable. I also didn’t shorten this pair, but again on trying them on I could have done with removing a teeny bit of length (maybe an inch) – I’m 5’5″ with a 31″ inside leg to give you an idea of the length.

Construction was very straightforward and I managed to make them up in about half a day, not including the cutting and sticking that precedes with a PDF pattern! Since I’m now the proud owner of an overlocker I used it to finish all of my raw edges and sewed a few seams with it in the interest of time saving.

DSC_0303

The Luna pants come with tapered legs and lovely little elasticated cuffs that turn them from looking like pyjama trousers into trendy trousers for the summer. They also come with roomy side seam pockets where the tops of the pocket bags are closed under the waist facing, meaning that they stay in place and won’t flap around or turn inside out.

DSC_0285

Since the fronts and backs look pretty identical I also included one of my little labels to the back waistband facing – colour wise I think it matches pretty well! Now I’ve made up the pattern once I think I may make another pair for the summer, shortening the legs a little bit and taking them in at the hips. Not too bad for a quick make though!

4 thoughts on “Cachette Luna Pants

Leave a Reply

