Patterns · Sewing

Summer sewing plans

So since my last post a lot has happened in my life, including the fact that as of October I will be living in Leicester for eight months on my first placement on the Centrica graduate scheme! Starting my first proper job requires a slight wardrobe update, so I thought I’d use this post to show what my sewing plans are for the next month or so.

Having worked for the same company for ten weeks last summer I do already have some suitable workwear but a fairly significant gap I’ve noticed is in nice work tops. Whilst browsing social media yesterday I saw that Guthrie & Ghani‘s clearance sale had started, so I took the chance to hit up their online shop and see what was on offer.

Screen Shot 2015-08-12 at 22.57.25

First up are two drapey synthetics – a navy blue ditsy print rayon and a black and white ikat viscose. I’ve become a sucker for making clothes out of drapey fabrics (see both Salme double layered camisoles for the evidence – 1|2). These fabrics lend themselves to slightly looser garments more than a cotton would so I’m thinking I might make some Salme Kimono tops or even a sleeveless Mimi from T&TB like this one on Pinterest.

Screen Shot 2015-08-12 at 22.59.28

My other purchase from Guthrie & Ghani is the white feather dot cotton lawn pictured above. This may too become a sleeveless Mimi blouse but I have also been eyeing up the new Fifi pattern from T&TB, so we shall wait and see on that one! Having saved in one fabric shop, I then treated myself to this feathers coral voile from M is for Make to add a bit more colour into my work wardrobe (I also bought a tomato red blazer from Wallis recently, so there’s a bit more colour there!). This might be a tad see through, but until it arrives in the post I shall hold judgement on it.

If anyone has any other pattern ideas that may be nice for making a top suitable for work out of 1.5m of fabric, or you know of any good fabric shops in Leicester and want to let me in on the secret, just leave a comment below!

2 thoughts on “Summer sewing plans

  1. Oh I LOVE that feather fabric!! I might have to swoop in and purchase some of that! That would make a beautiful blouse to go with a black pencil skirt? How about ByHandLondon’s Sorbetto for a 1.5m blouse? There’s a good few free printable patterns for sleeveless blouses from some of the Indie pattern makers and they look great tucked in to a high waisted skirt of work! Also have you seen the new Anderson blouse from SewOverIt? Probably need more than 1.5m but that looks like a great wardrobe staple! Good luck with your grad scheme! I’m sure you will love it!

Leave a Reply

